Recognizing nine outstanding women in New Mexico’s STEM fields on March 28, 2019

The New Mexico Technology Council (NMTC) recently named nine women who will be honored this year at its 11th Annual Women in Technology Celebration (WIT) Awards Gala, to take place on March 28 at the Albuquerque Mariott Pyramid North, beginning at 7:30 a.m.

The Women in Technology Celebration is the organization’s way of honoring outstanding women in the STEM arena. Nominations are submitted by the public and reviewed by an independent panel of judges.

“Trailblazers, brilliant, determined, strong …. is how I can begin to describe this year’s honorees for our Women In Technology awards. These women hold critical technology and education positions throughout New Mexico in private industry, state government, national laboratories, and education.”, said Deborah Breitfeld, CEcD, Executive Director at the New Mexico Technology Council. “NMTC is thrilled to recognize these women and highlight their work and accomplishments. They are pioneers in their fields who provide support and encouragement for STEM education to their employees, colleagues, and future workforce.”

This year’s honorees include:

Janette Frigo
R&D Engineer
Los Alamos National Labs

Amy Halloran
Senior Manager – Renewable Energy Technologies
Sandia National Laboratories

Alia Lubers
Chief Engineer Pajarito Powder LLC

Laura Monroe
Senior Research Scientist – Computer Science
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Renay Moya
Vice President of IT Staffing NM
Robert Half Technology

Melanie Moses
Ph.D. Professor
Computer Science University of New Mexico

Jennifer Nevarez
Executive Director NM TechWorks
Community Learning Network

Paige Prescott
Executive Director & Co-Founder
Computer Science Alliance

Christina Salas
Ph.D. Assistant Professor – Biomedical Engineering University of New Mexico


The celebration will include a keynote speech from Dr. Joy Colucci, founder and CEO of Metis Technology Solutions, Inc. Joy is a former Women in Technology Award Honoree and has lead Metis Technology Solutions to be recognized with over 30 NASA achievement awards, the 2017 NASA Agency-Wide Subcontractor of the Year, and ranked as New Mexico’s 3rd fastest growing technology company as a 2018 New Mexico Flying 40 award winner.

Additional Recognition:

Debbie Berlin

Rebecca Farish

For more information on the Annual Women in Technology Celebration visit,