New Mexico Technology Council (NMTC) to recognize six women for their impact in a STEM field, commitment to community

NEW MEXICO – February 4, 2020 – The NMTC has announced six women to be recognized with the annual Women in Technology Award. The recipients are:

  • Carol Adkins, Director, Energy & Earth Systems Center, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Sarah Boisvert, Founder & CEO, Fab Lab Hub
  • Jill Meyers, Aviation Consultant, Meyers AeroConsulting
  • Kimball Sekaquaptewa, Chief Technology Director, Santa Fe Indian School
  • Sharon Sessions, Professor of Physics, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
  • Caren Shiozaki, EVP & CIO, TMST, Inc.

The recipients were selected out of a pool of over 20 applicants by a judging panel comprised of former Women in Technology Award winners. Applicants were evaluated based on four criteria: volunteerism, mentorship, entrepreneurialism and professional impact.

“This year’s honorees are an outstanding representation of the diversity and impact that women are having in STEM industries and communities across our state. We are thrilled to celebrate and recognize their hard-earned accomplishments as we welcome them into the prestigious lineage of Women in Technology Honorees,” said Deborah Breitfeld, Executive Director of the New Mexico Technology Council.

The honorees will be recognized at the 12th Annual Women in Technology Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 26, 2020 at the Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid North.

About the Women in Technology Awards

Each year, the NMTC recognizes a slate of women for their accomplishments in a STEM field and their contributions to their community. Award recipients represent myriad STEM industries and all show an exemplary commitment to mentorship and community impact. The honorees are officially recognized at the Annual Women in Technology Awards Celebration, held in the Spring.

Nominations for the next class of honorees will open in August.

About the New Mexico Technology Council (NMTC)

NMTC is a member-driven association of businesses, organizations and tech professionals working to promote the growth and success of New Mexico’s technology business sectors.